Share

Austerity explained: the case against cuts | General Election 2015

The coalition government came to power in 2010 promising to deliver a stable economy and reduce Britain’s deficit.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
Its chosen method was austerity, a mix of higher taxes and deep spending cuts. But rather than unleashing growth, the UK economy stalled – just as many Keynesian economists predicted it would. But with most major parties committed to degrees of austerity, Phoebe Greenwood asks whether anyone has learned the lesson of the past five years.

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
Another economic crash is coming – Renegade Economist ► http://bit.ly/renegadeeconomist
Anywhere but Westminster – the bleakest place in Britain? ► http://bit.ly/ABWtories

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment