Share

Batwa: Uganda and the human story behind gorilla tourism | Guardian Features

The Oscar-nominated documentary Virunga exposed the threat to gorillas in Congo, but in neighbouring Uganda the Batwa – who have shared forests with mountain gorillas for generations – face a struggle for survival.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
The creation of national parks has seen tourism boom, though the Batwa have been forcibly evicted from their land. Now, charities are calling for community tourism projects to help the Batwa benefit from the money being made in what used to be their home.
Credits:
rupertshanks.com
jociecox.com

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment