Share

Emojis, banter and hashtags are not for brands – Tshepo Mokoena | Comment is Free

It all began with Innocent smoothies – and then along came social media.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
Tshepo Mokaena argues that corporate communication has taken a wrong turn – and asks whether it even works? From the rise of wackaging, where companies use banterous slang and cheeky colloquialisms to Dominos pizza tweeting cat memes, brands need to stop trying to be our friends.

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
Does Twitter have the right to ruin your life? ► http://bit.ly/RONSONjon
I feel too busy! Oliver Burkeman ► http://bit.ly/busybusyness

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment