Share

How migrants were trafficked to work on Britain’s free-range farms | Guardian Features

Laurynas was just 19 when he was trafficked into the UK to work with 30 other Lithuanians, catching chickens.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
They worked in a supply chain producing premium free-range eggs for McDonald’s, Tesco, Asda, M&S and Sainsbury’s. He says he was driven around the UK to undertake back-to-back eight-hour shifts for days at a time, worked in dangerous conditions, and was denied sleep and toilet breaks. He alleges pay was repeatedly withheld and that a supervisor assaulted workers, intimidated them with fighting dogs and threatened them with eviction if they complained.

Support the Guardian charity appeal for the refugee crisis and donate at ► http://www.theguardian.com/charity-appeal-donations

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
Slave ships and supermarkets ► http://bit.ly/ThaiFishSlavery
LA-MRSA, the pig superbug living in your fridge ► http://bit.ly/SuperbugFridge

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood
Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment