Share

Refugee crisis in the Mediterranean: the rescue ship saving lives at sea

The Migrants Offshore Aid Station (MOAS) is a privately funded search-and-rescue vessel, was founded in 2013 and is made up of international humanitarian workers, security professionals, medical staff and maritime officers.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
The Guardian spent five days with MOAS meeting its crew as they search for and save migrants stranded at sea. During the first six months of 2015, an estimated 137,000 migrants tried to cross the Mediterranean sea – the majority fleeing war, conflict or persecution.

Support the Guardian charity appeal for the refugee crisis and donate at ► http://www.theguardian.com/charity-appeal-donations

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
Death at Sea ► http://bit.ly/deathatseadoc
Calais Migrants: get to England or die trying ► http://bit.ly/calaismigrants

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment