Share

Sweetening the pill: Could some birth-control methods kill you? | Guardian Docs

Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian

Could some pharmaceutical birth-control methods be having side-effects that are more dangerous than women realise? The birth control pill was one of the greatest inventions of the 20th century. But decades after its introduction, women are being prescribed birth control at a young age, and are taking it for years without realising there may be other safer options for avoiding pregnancy. Featuring interviews with parents and friends of those who’ve died after complications related to some birth control hormones, Abby Epstein and Holly Grigg-Spall question how much the public really know about their medical effects.

Find out more about the Sweetening the Pill documentary on Kickstarter ► http://is.gd/stpkickstarter

Share your experiences of hormonal contraception with GuardianWitness ► http://is.gd/stpwitness

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment