Share

Why the world loves a political outsider – Srđa Popović | Comment is Free

From Syriza to Podemos, Hong Kong to the UK, people from outside the establishment have been shaking up politics.
Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian
Serbian revolutionist Srđa Popović argues that the popularity of these political insurgents lies in the impression that they are allowing the people to influence the system, in ways that seem impossible in traditional politics. But how do these outsiders fare once they enter the halls of power? And can they ever truly replace the old guard?

Blueprint for Revolution: how to use rice pudding, lego men, and other non-violent techniques to galvanise communities, overthrow dictators, or simply change the world by Srđa Popović is published by Scribe. ► http://bookshop.theguardian.com/blueprint-for-revolution.html

Guardian website ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Endboard videos:
Renegade Economist: Another economic crash is coming ► http://bit.ly/renegadeeconomist
Naomi Klein: Let’s kick oil while the price is down ► http://bit.ly/naomikleinCiF

Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Watch Me Date ► http://is.gd/watchmedate
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

More Guardian videos:

Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers
How your phone spies on you ► http://is.gd/phonespying
What is freedom today? ► http://is.gd/zizekcif
30 Stone man enters Mr Gay UK ► http://is.gd/stavros
Fighting Isis in Kobani ► http://is.gd/fightingisis
How does Ebola kill? ► http://is.gd/ebolakills
The SlumGods of Mumbai ► http://is.gd/slumgods
Jesus “would have been an atheist” ► http://is.gd/dawkinsjesus
The new global menace ► http://is.gd/owenjonescif

Leave a Comment