South America travel ban amid fears over Brazil Covid variant | ITV News

A travel ban on Brazil and a number of other South American countries has been imposed by the government in a bid to stop the spread of a new coronavirus variant.

Arrivals from Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela will not be allowed to enter the UK from 4am on Friday January 15.

Travel from Portugal will also be suspended, with an exemption for hauliers travelling from the country to allow the transport of essential goods, transport secretary Grant Shapps said.

• Subscribe to ITV News on YouTube:
• Get breaking news and more stories at

Follow ITV News on Facebook:
Follow ITV News on Twitter:
Follow ITV News on Instagram:

Leave a Comment