Share

Why horror keeps creeping into black drama

Shows such as I May Destroy You, Atlanta and Insecure depict a wide spectrum of black life, from hilarity to mundanity – but all these shows, at times, also have an impending sense of doom. This feeling of horror, this looming sense of dread, is intentional, but it plays on the common tropes we’ve been conditioned to expect. Josh Toussaint-Strauss discusses why audiences expect bad things to happen to black characters and explores how a new generation of black creators are using horror to subvert these negative tropes. 
Subscribe to The Guardian on YouTube ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian

Support the Guardian ► https://support.theguardian.com/contribute

Today in Focus podcast ► https://www.theguardian.com/news/series/todayinfocus

Sign up for the Guardian documentaries newsletter ► https://www.theguardian.com/info/2016/sep/02/sign-up-for-the-guardian-documentaries-update

The Guardian ► https://www.theguardian.com

The Guardian YouTube network:

Guardian News ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Owen Jones talks ► http://bit.ly/subsowenjones
Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Sport ► http://bit.ly/GDNsport
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture

Further reading:

Will it destroy us? Why horror always creeps in to black drama ► https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2020/jul/14/i-may-destroy-you-michaela-coel-why-horror-always-creeps-in-to-black-drama

Lanre Bakare ► https://www.theguardian.com/profile/lanre-bakare

Dr Francesca Sobande ► https://www.francescasobande.com/

Awkward Black girls and postfeminist possibilities: representing millennial Black women on television in Chewing Gum and Insecure. Critical Studies in Television, 14(4): 435–450 ► https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/1749602019870298

Tananarive Due ► https://www.tananarivedue.com/

Horror Noire ► https://www.shudder.com/movies/watch/horror-noire-a-history-of-black-horror/e650978256281a67

The Sunken Place: Black Horror course ► https://masteryplus.mykajabi.com/the-sunken-place-sales-page

Leave a Comment